Age restrictions for the purchase of e-cigarettes are spreading in the United States. Indeed, Texas will soon become the 15me State to raise the minimum age of 18 to 21 years to buy tobacco products, including the e-cigarette.
Last Friday, the governor Greg Abbott signed the bill, which will come into force on September 1er. The state of Texas will raise the minimum age to buy 18 e-cigarettes at 21. Only exception, the military will always be able to buy products if they have between 18 and 20 years. Anyone caught violating this new law will be liable to a class C offense and a fine of up to $ 500 $.
The governor of Illinois signed a similar law in May. The New York Senate passed a law on 1 last April that the governor should sign. Arkansas, California, Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Oregon, Utah, Vermont, Virginia and Washington state are other states that have adopted the same legislation. Last month, the majority leader in the Senate, Mitch McConnell, officially introduced a bill to raise the minimum age across the country.
« Delaying the age at which youth begin to use tobacco, the leading cause of preventable death, will reduce the risk of developing a life-threatening addiction" , said Shelby Massey, director of government relations in Texas for theAmerican Heart Association.